Skip to content
Museum for the United Nations - UN Live
من نحنانضم إلينا

Menu

من نحنانضم إلينا

أصوات عبر نوافذنا

. نعيب بوم. غناء. تلك هي الأصوات الافتتاحية لأغنية "Más Allá de la Ventana"، التي أسهم بها أبطال فريق الروك الكولومبي أتيرسيوبيلادوس في واحد من المشروعات الصوتية البارزة – الذي يمثل إحدى الثمرات الفريدة الباعثة على الأمل في عام امتلأ بالمصاعب والتحديات.

”خارج النافذة / عالم آخر يتشكل / بمجرد التفكير / عالم من العجائب / يصل إلى الجميع / ويمنح كل شيء“ - Más Allá de La Ventana، أتيرسيوبيلادوس

عند الاستماع إلى أصوات التنوع البيولوجي المدمجة مع الإيقاع اللاتيني، تتولى حواسك القيادة لتنقلك إلى عالم آخر – لا تملك فيه أن تظل ساكنًا! وربما بدأنا – جماعة VozTerra ومتحف الأمم المتحدة الحي – نشهد هدفنا يتجسد: استخدام الصوت والموسيقى في الدفع نحو إحداث التغيير.

حيث بدأنا رحلتنا مع VozTerra في عام 2019، كجزء من مبادرتنا "إسهامي: مدينتي". My City initiative. فجمعنا خمسين شخصًا من خلفيات وأعمار ومهن مختلفة إلى حد كبير – علماء أحياء، ومعلمين، ونجوم روك، وقساوسة وراهبات، وطهاة، وطلاب من الشباب ـ في متحف مالوكا في بوجوتا. وطرحنا عليهم سؤالًا بسيطًا ومتفائلًا: ما الذي يتعين علينا فعله لإثارة اهتمام الناس وتحفيزهم على العمل من أجل تحقيق الاستدامة، هنا في كولومبيا؟

وبعد يوم من المناقشة الدؤوبة، اتفقت المجموعة على ضرورة الجمع، بطريقة ما، بين الحنين الكولومبي العميق إلى الأمازون وحب الشعب العارم والموحد للموسيقى والإيقاع.

وقرر ثلاثة موسيقيين، وعالم أحياء، وفنان تشكيلي، من بين الحضور في ذلك اليوم (لاني أريفالو، وهكتور بويتراغو، ورافائيل بويانا، وديانا ريستريبو، ودانيال روا، على الترتيب)، تحويل مناقشات اليوم إلى تعاون متعدد التخصصات دائم، وابتكار منصة رقمية تفاعلية للأصوات. وهكذا نشأت جماعة VozTerra.

الموسيقيون والعلماء يحتفلون على حد سواء بإطلاق منصة VozTerra رسميًا في مارس/آذار 2020. تصوير:دانيال بريتون

تصف أنجيلا بوينتس قائدة برنامج أمريكا اللاتينية لدينا ذلك بقولها: ”لم نكن نعلم إلى أين سيقودنا ذلك، فقد وُلدت VozTerra من رحم هذا التجمع الأول، واستمرت في التحرك معنا، كالقطار، محفوفة بالشغف والحب، وهكذا تحقق الأمر!“.

وفي إطار السعي إلى تحفيز التغيير من خلال ربط الناس ببيئاتهم الطبيعية، اتخذت المجموعة تحركها الأول بالبدء في تسجيل أصوات الطبيعة، وإرسال دعوات إلى الجميع ليفعلوا الشيء نفسه.

وفي الفصل الأول من هذا العمل، تعاونت VozTerra مع زعماء السكان الأصليين من جماعة مويسكا لالتقاط أصوات محمية فان دير هامن في بوغوتا. وفي الثاني، جمعت مشاهد صوتية من منطقة كاكويتا، وعندما حلت الجائحة، كانت النهاية البدهية: أصوات العزلة. إذا لم نتمكن من الخروج إلى الطبيعة إذن، فماذا لو جلبناها إلى الداخل؟إذا توقفت وأرهفت السمع، ما الذي يمكنك سماعه من النوافذ؟

تعليق توضيحي: لاني أريفالو، إحدى المؤسسات المشاركات في VozTerra وابنتها فيوليتا، تشاركان في احتفال أقامه أبويلا بلانكا نيفيس من جماعة كابيلدو مويسكا في سوبا أثناء التسجيلات الصوتية في محمية فان دير هامن في بوغوتا. تصوير:دانيال بريتون

مع نشر التسجيلات ـ ليس فقط من كولومبيا، بل ممن ألهمهم المشروع في مختلف أنحاء العالم أيضًا – دعا متحف الأمم المتحدة الحي و VozTerra مجموعة متنوعة من الموسيقيين المنتمين لمختلف أنواع الموسيقى والبلدان إلى الاستفادة من هذه التسجيلات واستخدامها في إنشاء أعمال جديدة. ونتج عن ذلك أكثر من خمسين قطعة موسيقية أصلية موزعة على أربعة ألبومات، شملت أغنيات لليدو بيمينتا، المغني الكندي الكولومبي المرشح لجوائز جرامي لهذا العام؛ ومنسق الأغاني والمخرج الفرنسي دومبرانس؛ وروبين ألباران، المطرب الرئيسي لفرقة Café Tacvba المكسيكية ــ وبطبيعة الحال، فريق أتيرسيوبيلادوس.

كما انضم نادي كابوت الليلي ببوجوتا إلى هذا الجهد، الأمر الذي ساعد في انتشار الموسيقى والمشروع. وقد طُعِّمت مقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بالأغاني بالدعابة والإبداع البصري. ومع استشعار كابوت للفرصة الكامنة، استغل هذه الجائحة في التحول من ’مجرد‘ كونه ناديًا ليليًا إلى إصدار موسيقى تحمل اسمه ــ والانضمام إلى شركائنا في الجهود المتنامية لاستخدام الصوت كمصدر إلهام لارتباط أكبر وأعمق بالطبيعة.

ولا تمثل الموسيقى سوى البداية فقط؛حيث تلوح في الأفق تلاقحات قوية ومثيرة، تشمل مناطق جغرافية جديدة وجماهير جديدة. وسنوظف ما تعلمناه من العمل مع VozTerra في تعاون جديد مع الكنيسة الكاثوليكية في كولومبيا، وسنستكشف كيف يمكننا توسيع نطاق الأصوات المجمعة من مصادر متعددة على نطاق عالمي. والواقع أن الإمكانات التي قد يحققها ذلك ــ سواء في عالم الموسيقى أو مجال البيئة الصوتية ــ هائلة ومبشرة بالأمل. ونشعر بإثارة كبيرة لما هو قادم، ولكن حتى ذلك الحين، أبق النوافذ مفتوحة ولا تتوقف عن الحركة!

المزيد من المشروعات

مركب يمخر عباب البحر لمكافحة تلوث المخلفات البلاستيكية

من المقرر أن يستهل فليب فلوبي، وهو أول مركب مصنوع بالكامل من البلاستيك المعاد تدويره، رحلته الجديدة حول بحيرة فيكتوريا، وذلك في شهر مارس/آذار القادم

2/1/2021

  • Climate action
  • News
Museum for the United Nations - UN Live
الروابط
الجوانب الاجتماعية
للاتصال

hello@museumfortheun.org

Skip to content
Museum for the United Nations - UN Live
AboutContact

Menu

AboutContact

Sounds from our windows

Birds chirping, wind running through leaves, the sound of water, weeps of a guitar, layers of instruments. A hoot. Singing. These are the opening sounds of “Más Allá de la Ventana”, the song that Colombian rock heroes Aterciopelados have contributed to a remarkable sound project – and a uniquely hopeful outcome of an otherwise challenging year.

“Beyond the window / Another world is created / Just by thinking / A world of wonders / Where it reaches everyone / And everything is given” – Más Allá de La Ventana, Aterciopelados

Listening to the sounds of biodiversity woven into a Latin rhythm, the senses take over, and you’re transported - it's impossible to stay still! Perhaps we – the VozTerra collective and UN Live – are beginning to see our goal in action: using sound and music to drive change.

We began our journey with VozTerra in 2019, as part of our My Mark: My City initiative. We gathered fifty people from wildly different backgrounds, ages and occupations – biologists, teachers, rock stars, priests and nuns, chefs, young students – at Maloka Museum in Bogotá. And we asked them a simple, optimistic question: what will it take to engage people and take action on sustainability, here in Colombia?

After a day of energetic discussion, the group agreed – we needed to somehow combine Colombia’s deep sense of nostalgia for the Amazon with the country’s universal and unifying love of music and rhythm.

Three musicians, a biologist, and a visual artist all present that day (Lany Arévalo, Hector Buitrago, Rafael Puyana, Diana Restrepo and Daniel Roa respectively), decided that they would turn the day’s discussions into a lasting multidisciplinary collaboration, and create an interactive digital platform for sound. The VozTerra collective was born.

Musicians and scientists alike celebrate the official launch of the VozTerra platform in March 2020. Photo: Daniel Bretón

“We didn’t know where it would lead, VozTerra came out of this first gathering and then, with us, kept moving like a train, with passion, and then it happens!” says Angela Puentes, our Latin American Program Lead.

Seeking to spur change by connecting people to their natural environments, the group’s first action was to start recording the sounds of nature, and to send out calls for everyone to do the same.

In the first chapter of this work, VozTerra collaborated with indigenous leaders from the Muisca community to capture the sounds of Van Der Hammen Reserve in Bogotá. In the second they collected the soundscapes of the Caquetá region, and when the pandemic hit – there was an obvious finale: the sounds of isolation. If we were unable to go out into nature, what if we brought it inside? If you stop and listen, what can you hear from your windows?

Lany Arévalo, co-founder of VozTerra and her daughter Violeta participate in a ceremony by Abuela Blanca Nieves from the Cabildo Muisca community of Suba during sound recordings in the Van Der Hammen Reserve in Bogotá. Photo: Daniel Bretón

As recordings rolled in – not just from Colombia but from those inspired by the project all over the world – UN Live and VozTerra invited a diverse array of musicians spanning genres and countries to take these recordings and use them to create new work. More than 50 original pieces of music across four albums are the result, including songs from Lido Pimienta, a Colombian Canadian singer nominated to this year’s Grammy awards; French DJ and producer Dombrance; Ruben Albarrán, lead singer of the Mexican band Café Tacvba – and of course, Aterciopelados.

Bogotá based nightclub Kaputt also joined the effort, helping to amplify the reach of the music and project. Video clips of songs are infused with humour and visual creativity. Sensing an opportunity, Kaputt has used the pandemic to transition from being ‘just’ a club, to releasing music as a label – and joining as partners in our growing effort to use sound to inspire a greater, deeper connection to nature.

Music is just the start. Exciting new collisions are on the horizon, including in new geographies and with new audiences. We will be bringing what we’ve learned from working with VozTerra to a new collaboration with the Catholic Church in Colombia, and exploring how we might expand crowdsourced sound on a global scale. The potential this could have – both to music and to the field of acoustic ecology – is huge and hopeful. We are beyond excited about what’s coming, but until then, keep dancing with the windows open!

More stories

Setting sail to beat plastic pollution

This March, the world’s first recycled plastic boat – the FlipFlopi – sets sail on its newest voyage around Lake Victoria.

2/1/2021

  • Climate action
  • News
Museum for the United Nations - UN Live
Links
Contact

hello@museumfortheun.org